A long overdue trip to Bill Granger’s

Any long time reader here would know that I credit my kitchen prowess to Bill Granger. I am a proud collector of his cookbooks and have enjoyed cooking many of his recipes over the years which are perfect for weeknight family meals.

I have been to a few of Bill’s Granger &Co restaurants in London (plus the Surry Hills one in Sydney). My favourite is the Clerkenwell branch as one is able to book a table and I’ve enjoyed many meals there with old co-workers.

Hubby suggested a trip to NottingHill today – it was a beautiful day, the sun was shining after an awful downpour last night and frankly we were in need of new perspective.

Don’t you love the colours on the building? The Bear calls them PlayDoh houses!

We headed over to Granger & Co, registered our booking and were told it was a 30 minute wait. We decided to wait it out in the car, playing ‘I spy’ with the Bear who was frankly unimpressed at being dragged out of the house on a Sunday!

I received a text message from Granger & Co that our table was ready and we were seated at a nice table upon entering. The restaurant seemed very full and I mentally wished Bill resilience and success in keeping his business going in such difficult times.

A shoutout to Bill. There was no kids menu. If you’ve read his cookbooks or watched his cooking shows, you’ll know he isn’t a fan of kids menu. Bill is a believer in giving kids the same food what grown ups eat and has suggested in his books that any good restaurant would offer some kids options if you were to ask. Well ask we did, and the Bear has a choice of a small sized beef burger, chicken schnitzel or plain pasta. She opted for the burger which was a generous portion of beef burger in delicious brioche bun, lettuce, tomatoes and skinny fries. Success!

The Hubby had the grown up portion of the beef burger whilst I had soft shell crab with kimchi fried rice. I asked for chorizo and poached egg to be omitted from the dish which they happily obliged. It came with smashed pickled cucumber instead which was yummy.

I couldn’t leave without dessert and we ordered pavlova and choc fudge to share, plus a flat white for the Hubby.

This was seriously delicious.

The ambience in the restaurant was great. Staff were attentive and friendly. I’ve got my eye on Bill’s new book, Australian Food. Perhaps I’ll put it on my list for Christmas but in the meantime I’ll dust off some of his old cookbooks.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started