8 months into 2021 – a recap!

How is everyone doing? If you’re still dropping by to check out this blog, thank you and sorry it has been rather quiet over here.

January 2021
After a week off work at Christmas, we entered a lockdown in January. Schools didn’t reopen and online learning resumed. Work accelerated to 500mph, one of my team members left and her successor couldn’t keep up with the workload. I had to step in and manage until we found a suitable candidate and it was hell. My ever resilient daughter got on with her online learning and started bringing me snacks as I worked 15 hour days at home and rarely taking a break.

Feb 2021

February is my least favourite month but at least it was only 28 days long. My days turned longer and longer and 2 weeks into the month, I decided I had to give up working for this company before it consumed my well-being anymore. My husband and daughter were supportive and I started counting down the 12 week notice period.

March 2021

Still in lockdown, though there was light at the end of the tunnel with news of schools reopening at the end of the month just before Easter. Cherry blossoms were sprouting, the air felt hopeful.

April 2021

Easter was a quiet affair, with me working for 36 hours over the long weekend. Fortunately my employer agreed that I could use up holidays to shorten my notice period, and the countdown to my exit in mid April begun. Form-wise, I was burnt out.

May 2021

And so my career break commenced. I started working out, reading, watching shows on Netflix but minimised catching up with friends. Having done at least 7 hours worth of zoom calls daily since March 2020, I was in need of a serious break, recovery and recuperation.

June 2021

I started to feel human again. Regular mealtimes, lots of quality time spent with my daughter, fresh air, yoga, all contributed to my regaining some of my old self back.

We were prepping for my daughter’s first holy communion which gave us something to look forward to.

July 2021

My daughter was sad that her current school year had come to an end. She found lockdown quite difficult and loved being back in school with her friends and teachers.!

We started our veggie patch quite late but soon caught up. We harvested courgettes and are patiently waiting for tomatoes to ripen.

Aug 2021

No summer getaway planned. My daughter is enjoy day-camp and I’m spending my last few weeks at home before starting a new job in September.

Eights months gone in a blink.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started