Simple Asam Laksa

Having not been back in Asia since 2018, I’ve had strong cravings for certain food, one of them being Asam Laksa. For anyone living in London, Dapur near Holborn do a very lovely version and I cried tears of joy when I tucked into my takeaway Tupperware from them recently.

I fortuitously stumbled onto a simple Asam Laksa recipe on YouTube recently and after researching similar recipes online, I decided to give it a go, sans torch ginger bud. Thanks to amazon, I managed to source a Vietnamese coriander plant, the leaves of which is a key ingredient for the dish.

This is a very simple version which worked well for me and satisfied my craving without trekking into London.

Ingredients: serves 2

  • 2 tins of sardines in tomato sauce
  • 1/2 red onion
  • 2 handfuls of Vietnamese coriander
  • 1 tsp shrimp paste
  • 1 red chilli plus 3 dried chillies (reconstituted)
  • 1 cup of water
  • 2 to 3 tbsp tamarind juice (pulp plus hot water)
  • salt to taste

Method:

  • Blend the sardines, 1 handful of Vietnamese coriander, onion, chillies and water
  • Pour the blended mixture into a medium pot and simmer for 25 minutes
  • Whilst simmering, add the remaining Vietnamese coriander, tamarind juice and salt – taste, taste and taste!! You may need to add water if the mixture is too thick and do this gradually
  • The sauce should be ready in 25 minutes
  • Serve with boiled egg, mint leaves, sliced red onions, sliced cucumber, a wedge of lime and udon noodles (200g, blanched)

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started